A chakra is a spinning portal into the body’s complex energy system. There are seven major chakras associated with the body. According to Anodea Judith, author of Eastern Body, Western Mind: Psychology and the Chakra System As a Path to the Self, "The seven colors of the rainbow represent an alternative to our binary black-and-white consciousness, offering us a world of multiple opportunities. The rainbow expresses the diversity of light as it moves from source to manifestation. Its seven colors represent seven vibratory modalities of human existence, related to the seven chakras of Indian yogic tradition - energy centers that exist within each of us."

The location of each of the seven major chakras is shown on the figure below. In addition to these, there are chakras that exist outside the body. These are called "etheric chakras" and are not shown here.

Each chakra acts as a focal point for reception and transmission of life force energies. The word, “Chakra”(pronounced “CHAWK-raw”) is an ancient Sanskrit word that means “wheel”. Each chakra has its own set of specific attributes and functions. As a group, chakras work together to vitalize the physical body and facilitate development of all aspects of the self: physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual.

Position of the seven chakras on the human body

Starting at the top of the head and working down - the seven major chakras are as follows:

7. Crown Chakra, the Enlightenment Center

6. Brow or "Third Eye" Chakra, the Intuition Center

5. Throat Chakra, the Communication Center

4. Heart Chakra, the Relationship Center

3. Solar Plexus Chakra, the Power Center

2. Sacral Chakra, the Emotional Center

1. Base or Root Chakra, the Survival Center

Our chakras are constantly adjusting as they move through natural cycles, opening and closing to realign to ever-changing energy flows. Removing and/or preventing energy blockages will allow the chakra system to self-regulate and rebalance naturally as it responds to your individual needs.

Keeping your chakras balanced is key to leading a vibrant, healthy, and fulfilling life. Chakras work together as a team. An imbalance in one chakra can impact the functioning of the others. When a chakra is blocked or out of balance, energy doesn’t flow harmoniously through it, which can manifest in a physical illness or disease—as well as mental, emotional, or spiritual difficulties.

Click here for a tutorial on how to use your pendulum to check the status of your chakras.

To learn more about the chakras, we recommend the following books (available at Amazon). Click on links below for details.